Castle Rackrent

by Maria Edgeworth

Publisher: Dancing Unicorn Books

Publication Date: March 26, 2017

ISBN: 9781515416555

Binding: Kobo eBook

Availability: eBook

Get eBook

The novel is set prior to the Constitution of 1782 and tells the story of four generations of Rackrent heirs through their steward, Thady Quirk. The heirs are: the dissipated spendthrift Sir Patrick O'Shaughlin, the litigious Sir Murtagh Rackrent, the cruel husband and gambling absentee Sir Kit Stopgap, and the generous but improvident Sir Condy Rackrent. Their sequential mismanagement of the estate is resolved through the machinations - and to the benefit - of the narrator's astute son, Jason Quirk.