Audacity

by Alan Evans
rrp $7.99
$7.25
9.3%
OFF
eBook

Publisher: Canelo

Series: Commander Cochrane Smith Naval Thrillers

Publication Date: September 24, 2018

ISBN: 9781788632454

Binding: Kobo eBook

Availability: eBook

Get eBook

Commander Cochrane Smith must battle through treacherous waters in this First World War naval thriller.

Spring, 1918: Bolshevik Russia has withdrawn from the war and now stands isolated, ineffectually hostile to both Germany and the Allied Forces. The Russian fleet at Kronstadt remains highly vulnerable, and the British government fears that a German offensive to ‘liberate’ the Kronstadt naval force could swing the balance of seapower against the Royal Navy.

Commander David Cochrane Smith is captain of Audacity, a Q ship, no more than a lightly armed disguised tramp steamer. He is ordered to deliver a fortune in gold and a mysterious female passenger to a group of Russian plotters who are prepared to sink the fleet and block German access to the harbour. The only way through is to penetrate the defences of the Baltic’s minefields and patrolling destroyers. Smith’s one protection is Audacity’s disguise as a neutral ship: if that is stripped away his orders are to scuttle her because the Admiralty believes escape to be impossible…

This action-filled First World War thriller is perfect for fans of Jack Higgins, Alexander Fullerton and Douglas Reeman.

Praise for Audacity

'I think a 21 gun salute is required … Alan Evans has produced a cracking thriller' Daily Mirror

'Evans provides a different sea story, sustained suspense and vivid battle scenes' Publishers Weekly