Mightiest Magpies: The Story Of Every Collingwood Premiership Season, The

by Michael Roberts

Publisher: Penguin Australia Pty Ltd

Publication Date: August 04, 2011

ISBN: 9781921518775

Binding: Hardback

Availability: Out of Stock

Please note this is the time it takes for stock to reach our warehouse. Please allow a few extra days for delivery.

! This book is currently not available for purchase

It's 1902 and Collingwood introduces short-passing tactics that revolutionise the game. It's 1917 and the Magpies rally to keep the VFL competition alive, providing welcome distraction from the war. It's 1930 and the Pies with their fourth premiership in a row. It's 1958 and Phone Kyne is urging his players to bleed for him, to protect that record. It's 2010 and the supporters start chanting, possessed with black-and-white belief. While each premiership season is unique, each bears the Collingwood stamp in some way. From 1896's delivery on a promise of 'Progress and the Premiership' to 2010's 'Side by Side' victory, the importance of team effort, fighting to the end and solid leadership on and off the field emerge to define the character of the men who have pulled on the black-and-white, and the club. Whether it's a behind victory, a triumph of the underdog, and the brilliance of a well-drilled and talented team, the journey to each flag is recreated in this great tale of sustained success.