De Profundis And Other Prison Writings

by Oscar Wilde

Publisher: Penguin UK

Publication Date: February 08, 2013

ISBN: 9780140439908

Binding: Paperback

Availability: 7-14 Days

Please note this is the time it takes for stock to reach our warehouse. Please allow a few extra days for delivery.

'I feel caught in a terrible net. I don't know where to turn. I care less when I think that he is thinking of me. I think of nothing else' 'De Profundis' is an epistolic account of Oscar Wilde's spiritual journey while in prison, and describes his conversion from his previous belief in pleasure and decadence to his new, shocking conviction that 'the supreme vice is shallowness'. This book also includes further letters to his wife, his friends, the Home Secretary and newspaper editors, as well as many to his lover Lord Alfred Douglas - Bosie - himself. 'The Ballad of Reading Gaol', written after Wilde's two year's hard labour in Reading prison and originally published anonymously, is the heart-rending and eye-opening tale of a man who has been sentenced to hang for the murder of the woman he loved. Colm Tóibín's introduction explores Wilde's family background and his success and reputation prior to his scandalous court case. He also examines Wilde's duality in love, politics and literature, and how his imprisonment affected the perception of his work. This edition also includes notes on the text and suggested further reading. Edited with an introduction by Colm Tóibín